Image - LBRUT-local-community-awards

Forty-seven local heroes ranging from across the borough were honoured with Community Awards at a ceremony on Friday.

Richmond Council invited members of the public to nominate residents who they feel have given outstanding service to the community, improved the quality of life for local people or benefited the community through community involvement or volunteering.

The Council received over 90 nominations to be judged by a panel made up of the Deputy Leader, the Cabinet Member for Culture, Sport and the Voluntary Sector, a member of the Youth Parliament Members and Council officers. The Panel received 90 of nominations from around the community.

The Panel selected 47 people from those submissions to receive a Community Award this year.

Winners include:

  • Ed Woodhouse, who teaches children with special needs how to ride bikes
  • Linda Lumley-Kelly, who volunteers at Linden Hall Day Centre providing invaluable support to staff and clients across a range of areas;
  • Karl Aris Romain, a second year medical student at Cambridge University who founded local charity ‘Onira’ to support the homeless in our borough
  • Bill Turner, who volunteers with the SPEAR Service helping to maintain the gardens, transport donations and equipment and helping to set up stands at various local events.

Cllr David Linnette, Cabinet Member for Culture, Sport and the Voluntary Sector said:

“We have so many selfless heroes, from across the borough, who make a real difference to their local communities. This is a great opportunity for us to recognise them and thank them for their service. It has been a really hard task to select a short list from so many outstanding individuals.

“The celebration event is a chance to thank all the winners on behalf of their community for their fantastic commitment, often over many years, and to publically acknowledge their achievements.”

All winners are awarded a commemorative lapel pin and a certificate.

— from a Richmond Council press release - 18 September 2017