Residents are reminded not to miss their chance to vote on Thursday, 4 June 2009, in the European Elections, as every vote will count in deciding the eight London Members of the European Parliament.

The European Parliament is made up of 736 Members (MEPs) elected by 27 EU member countries. In the UK, there are 12 European electoral regions represented by between three and ten MEPs making a total of 72 MEPs. Prior to EU expansion, this number of MEPs was 78.

MEPs spend some of their time in their regional constituencies in the UK and some of their time in political meetings in Brussels. For one week in every month they go to Strasbourg to debate and vote on new European laws with MEPs from other EU member countries.

– from Richmond Council website